Poetry

Arrangement

In Poetry on September 20, 2012 at 2:32 pm

A is for exordium, my exhortation.
I want a feeling for the rhetoric
of the common and necessary:
the passerby in the blue coat,
frost on roofs this morning,
the casual lid of stratus keeping it all in.
I want their voices to speak
from the crevices of the particular.
Lift up the edge of the world,
Aristotle said, and you shall see
the argument of light, its mindful contingency.
I am looking.
I twist in its faintness.
Others cast the sticks, read the leaves.
I place this piece here, that piece there,
the loneliness of each, its solitude.
Let me stay present
with all that arises in that light.

 

Mark Simpson’s work has appeared in a number of magazines, including Hiram Poetry Review, Cream City Review, Faultline, and A Clean, Well-Lighted Place. He works in Seattle as writer for an instructional design firm.

Post your Comment

