Poetry

Chinese Chimes: The Confession of A Calender

In Poetry on November 5, 2011 at 4:00 am

it all began with an animal race Emperor Jade called to amuse himself and his earthly subjects…

Rat
yes, i admit betraying the cat as my only close friend
but i won the race, with my head rather than my legs

Ox
to honor my contract with the yellow sun
i eat green grass, yet give red meat to man

Tiger
as the only feared king of the thick jungle
i am afraid and tired of my own timidness

Rabbit
with my cagey ears held so high
i will not miss a sound of peace

Dragon
although my portraits hung lively above the clouds
no human eyes have ever seen my authentic being

Snake
the moment i sloughed off my old slim self
i forgot ever seducing any manhood in heaven

Horse
my body looks more masculine than a strong man
and my heart feels more feminine than a tender girl

Goat
when i bleat towards the passers-by
i never mean to speak in an other voice

Monkey
each time i try to find any lice in the corner of my mind
i act like the humans outside the fence with barbed wire

Rooster
with my wings plumed with the feathers of night
i can not fly but to crow loudly towards dawn

Dog
given my canine camaraderie and pack mentality
i feel at home before, among or behind soldiers

Pig
i spend all my lifetime wisely
to guard this single moment

 

Changming Yuan grew up in a tenth century Chinese village. Teaching in Vancouver now, he has published 2 sons definitely greater than his two poetry books, and received 3 messages from Chan far stronger than nominations for the Pushcart Prize, with his soul wandering in Barrow Street, Best Canadian Poetry, BestNewPoemsOnline, Cortland Review, Exquisite Corpse, RHINO and others in 17 countries. He blogs at http://bquest-yuan.blogspot.com

Post your Comment

